Racing News  

The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2016/2017 Final Nominees


The Champion Awards Judging Panel has elected the final nominees for The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2016/2017 as follows:

Horse of the Year

Elected by votes of the Judging Panel from winners of the respective distance categories, excluding the Champion Griffin

Champion Sprinter
(below 1400m)


Lucky Bubbles

Mr Stunning


Champion Miler
(1400m to below 1800m)

Beauty Only


Helene Paragon

Rapper Dragon


Champion Middle-distance Horse
(1800m to below 2200m)

Pakistan Star

Rapper Dragon

Secret Weapon


Champion Stayer
(2200m or over)

Eagle Way


Champion Griffin
(For new imports in the current season which arrived in Hong Kong unraced, and which were aged either 2 or 3 on the date of the first Hong Kong race meeting of the season – Brand A)

Bravo Watchman



Regency Bo Bo

Sight Leader


The Panel decided to present Lifetime Achievement Awards to Able Friend and Aerovelocity, in recognition of their great contributions to Hong Kong racing.

The Judging Panel is comprised of three members each from The Hong Kong Jockey Club and the Association of Hong Kong Racing Journalists.

The HKJC votes are made by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Winfried Engelbrecht-Bresges; Executive Director, Racing Business and Operations, Mr. Anthony B Kelly and Head of Handicapping, Race Planning and International Racing, Mr. Nigel C Gray.

The three members from the Association of Hong Kong Racing Journalists are Chairman Mr. Carlos Wu, Vice Chairman Mr. Ho Wing Keung and Vice Chairman Mr. Timothy Wong, whose opinions reflect the results of voting from AHKRJ members.

The Panel commended the connections of each of the final nominees on the excellent performances of their horses this season.

Winners of the Champion Awards will be announced at The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2016/2017 presentation ceremony to be held on Friday, 14 July, at the Grand Ballroom, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong.

Both the Most Popular Jockey of the Year and Tony Cruz Award will be presented at the Season Finale meeting at Sha Tin Racecourse on Sunday, 16 July.

The Freelance Jockey or Apprentice with the highest number of wins in the current season will receive the Tony Cruz Award.

The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2016/17 Election Criteria

The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2016/17 logo (jpg format)



Copyright © 2000-2021 The Hong Kong Jockey Club. All rights reserved.