A P O'Brien - Trainers - Horse Racing - The Hong Kong Jockey Club
A P O'Brien
  • Profile
  • Performance
  • Runner Records
  • Other Trainers
  • Trainers' Ranking
  • Trainers' Favourite Runner Statistics
  • O'Brien, Aidan
    Age: 48
    Aidan O'Brien has a phenomenal list of big race victories to his name and has notched 298 G1 wins (plus a further 22 G1 National Hunt wins). Already in 2017, he has eclipsed American training legend Bobby Frankel's record for the most G1 wins in a season and currently sits on 27 for the year, two more than Frankel's mark. A champion amateur jump jockey in Ireland, he was assistant trainer to Jim Bolger before taking out a trainers' licence in 1993 - he was Ireland's champion trainer for a 20th time in 2017 with 119 wins. He enjoyed remarkable success with jumpers before teaming up with John Magnier's Coolmore operation at the legendary Ballydoyle training base in 1996; a year later, he became Ireland's youngest ever champion trainer on the Flat. He has won 68 British and Irish Classic races. O'Brien has trained a host of champions including super sire Galileo, High Chaparral, Giant's Causeway, Rock Of Gibraltar, Yeats, Cape Blanco and Minding. He broke new ground in 2014 with his first winner in Australia, Adelaide in the G1 Cox Plate, and in December, 2015, Highland Reel gave him his first Hong Kong win. The latter provided a 10th Breeders' Cup win in the 2016 Turf. HKIR win (1): Hong Kong Vase (2015 Highland Reel). Hong Kong wins: 1

    17/18 Season Up to Race Meeting of 21/04/2018
    Stakes won : $11,019,000 No. of Wins : 1 Total Runners : 5
    No. of Wins in past 10 race days : No. of 2nds : 0 Win % : 20%
        No. of 3rds : 0    
        No. of 4ths : 0    
              Previous Season

    Other Trainers
  • J Size
  • F C Lor
  • C S Shum
  • C H Yip
  • K W Lui
  • A S Cruz
  • Y S Tsui
  • P O'Sullivan
  • C Fownes
  • L Ho
  • P F Yiu
  • J Moore
  • A T Millard
  • R Gibson
  • W Y So
  • D E Ferraris
  • T P Yung
  • K L Man
  • A Lee
  • M J Freedman
  • C W Chang
  • D J Hall
  • D Cruz
  • A Fabre
  • H Fujiwara
  • N Hori
  • R M Beckett
  • R Okubo
  • C Appleby
  • A M Balding
  • Barande-Barbe
  • A Couetil
  • H J L Dunlop
  • J R Fanshawe
  • D Guillemin
  • F-H Graffard
  • R Hannon
  • Y Ikee
  • P Miller
  • W P Mullins
  • H Otonashi
  • F Rohaut
  • M Saito
  • D Simcock
  • K Sumii
  • Sir M R Stoute
  • Y Takahashi
  • T Umeda