C W Chang - Trainers - Horse Racing - The Hong Kong Jockey Club
C W Chang
  • Profile
  • Performance
  • Runner Records
  • Other Trainers
  • Trainers' Ranking
  • Trainers' Favourite Runner Statistics
  • Michael Chang Chun-wai
    Age: 56
    Michael Chang served three years as an apprentice jockey with trainer David Wilson in the UK before returning to Hong Kong in the late 1980s to commence his career with the Club. He worked his way through the ranks before becoming Assistant Trainer to Gary Ng. He then served Alex Wong, David Hayes and Sean Woods in the same capacity before taking out a full licence in the 2005/06 season. He notched a career best 40 wins in the 2012/13 season and that campaign also brought his first Group race win thanks to Vital Flyer in the HKG3 Sha Tin Sprint Trophy. In October, 2014, he saddled his G1 Dubai Golden Shaheen runner-up Rich Tapestry to win the G1 Santa Anita Sprint Championship, the horse making history as the first Hong Kong galloper to win a race in the USA. He had succeeded with the same horse in the G3 Mahab Al Shimaal in Dubai earlier that year, while Rich Tapestry also won the G3 Al Shindagha Sprint in 2016.
    The first Hong Kong-based trainer to win a race in North America.
    Notable Race Wins Include:
    Santa Anita Sprint Championship (2014 Rich Tapestry), G3 Mahab Al Shimaal (2014 Rich Tapestry), G3 Al Shindagha Sprint (2016 Rich Tapestry), HKG2 Sprint Cup (2013 Rich Tapestry), HKG3 Sha Tin Sprint Trophy (2012 Vital Flyer), Macau Hong Kong Trophy (2013 Noble Alpha).
    Hong Kong Career Wins (at commencement of 2017/18 season):
    241 (win strike rate: 6.11%)

    17/18 Season Up to Race Meeting of 16/06/2018
    Stakes won : $14,935,900 No. of Wins : 14 Total Runners : 330
    No. of Wins in past 10 race days : 2 No. of 2nds : 14 Win % : 4%
        No. of 3rds : 31    
        No. of 4ths : 20    
              Previous Season

    Other Trainers
  • J Size
  • F C Lor
  • C S Shum
  • A S Cruz
  • K W Lui
  • Y S Tsui
  • P O'Sullivan
  • C Fownes
  • C H Yip
  • P F Yiu
  • A T Millard
  • J Moore
  • L Ho
  • R Gibson
  • D E Ferraris
  • T P Yung
  • W Y So
  • K L Man
  • D J Hall
  • M J Freedman
  • A Lee
  • D Cruz
  • A P O'Brien
  • A Fabre
  • H Fujiwara
  • N Hori
  • R M Beckett
  • Y Takahashi
  • Y Ikee
  • R Okubo
  • C Appleby
  • A M Balding
  • Barande-Barbe
  • A Couetil
  • H J L Dunlop
  • J R Fanshawe
  • D Guillemin
  • F-H Graffard
  • R Hannon
  • P Leyshan
  • P Miller
  • J M Moore
  • W P Mullins
  • H Otonashi
  • F Rohaut
  • M Saito
  • D Simcock
  • K Sumii
  • Sir M R Stoute
  • T Umeda